When a normally good media policy isn’t good for us

As we all know, the media are responsible for reporting the news. This means that they have a responsibility to the public to ensure that the news that they are reporting is accurate to the best of their knowledge. Usually this means that they need to verify the stories that they report to be sure of the accuracy and authenticity of the content.

Usually this is a very good thing, it ensures that public opinion is not unduly swayed on serious issues because of something that isn’t actually true. Say for instance, the issue was whether or not to go to war with a country, a journalist had damned best make sure that the info he has at his disposal is accurate before dispensing it into an article which is then potentially acted upon by the government.

So yes, when it is a matter of life and death, this policy is extremely important and I do not blame media bosses entirely for employing it across the board. That said, there should be some exceptions, exceptions which would allow the reporting of stories which should be heard, but cannot be because of extreme risk both to the people who would need to provide verification, and to the journalists who would run those stories.

Let me back up here just a little to explain further. About a week ago, our friend Cristina contacted me to explain that a journalist from The Sun had interviewed her, and was interested in interviewing me. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to get my story out there for others, and I friended her on Facebook. My impressions were that of a nice lady who wanted to discover the truth about us and report it as such, so she asked me her questions about my relationship with my dad amongst other thing. I completed the interview with her, and then she asked me if she could verify my story….. oh dear. Needless to say, because what I did is currently against the law, and also because I’ve too much to lose, and that the movement cannot afford to lose a central player like myself, I could for the most obvious reasons supply this information to her.

In essence, expecting incestuous people to supply verification is actually expecting a criminal to supply proof of his or her crime, even though it shouldn’t even be a crime! Sorry, but it isn’t going to happen. Info like this can be easily subpoenaed by the courts. I do not blame this journalist, actually I quite like her, she seems very nice and she just wanted to present the information she discovered in a fair and neutral way. She spoke with her editor about it and it is he who said no, without verification the story cannot go ahead.

This is NOT an isolated incident by any means. My experience with The Sun is the same as with VICE journalists who have from time to time approached me (except with those, we didn’t even get as far as an interview). It is a general policy endemic to the media industry, which as I say, is usually important in ensuring that what is being reported is in fact correct.

What I would like to say to the media bosses is this: Would YOU, in our shoes, give away your indentity, location or other personal info? I doubt it. Can you understand WHY we have to be as secretive as we are? Our stories are there for you, we’ll tell you about it, just please, don’t expect us to provide proof of our ‘crime’, we won’t do it for security reasons. We’re a secretive people for good reason, we risk prison time for coming out. In the public sphere we cannot just be what we are, that’s the problem. You media bosses could consider being allies to us, allowing our stories to go forth without verification. We don’t even mind if you TELL the public that our stories are unverifed, explaining why they cannot be. That way, the reader gets to make up their own mind on whether or not the stories are true. In this way, you’re not decieving your readers, you’re giving our stories the public viewing they deserve, and boosting your own ratings. I’d say that would be a win-win scenario for everybody involved.

Don’t get me wrong, I realise that for all the media know, I could be some super sad loser guy stuck in his mothers basement living on cheetohs, mashed potato and beer. However, EVEN IF THAT WERE TRUE, which it isn’t, would that invalidate EVERYTHING I have said on this website? Would it invalidate the numerous people who have contacted me over this last year and a half? Of course not. Would it invalidate the arguments I have put forth for the legalization if incest? No, it would not.

I would say to any media bosses, the real story here is greater than my story, or Cristinas story, or anyone elses. It is the story of an oppressed minority group screaming out for acceptance and understanding. It is the story of a people who are just learning about themselves because their community is so new. It is the story of a subculture that is in it’s infancy and still forming. It is the story is a new youthful energy which desires to make an impression, correcting the horrific mistakes of it’s forebearers. It is the energy of a people who have remained silent about their oppression for far too long, a people who have patiently waited it out for the opportunity to speak. I, as one of the community leaders, am acting here in the capacity of an ambassador to the regulars. I am asking that our voice, our energy, our morals, our vibe to be heard and considered. We as a people have so much to offer to the world, if only given a chance.

I ask the media bosses to take all of this into consideration, because even if they do choose to ignore this plea, that the independant media is covering us periodically, and will continue to do so for the forseeable future. The mainstream risks becoming out of step, and thus out of touch with the most recent developements. Love will win out in the end, and news outlets who do not recognize that exceptions must be made in some cases will become doomed to bypass some of the most interesting stories of our time.

Incestuous couples have been with humanity for as long as our species have existed. Some parts of the ancient world accepted us, it is only in relatively modern history that we have been oppressed completely. We’re asking that our voice be heard so that we can be re-integrated into society.

5 thoughts on “When a normally good media policy isn’t good for us

  1. “I would say to any media bosses, the real story here is greater than my story, or Cristinas story, or anyone elses. It is the story of an oppressed minority group screaming out for acceptance and understanding. It is the story of a people who are just learning about themselves because their community is so new. It is the story of a subculture that is in it’s infancy and still forming. It is the story is a new youthful energy which desires to make an impression, correcting the horrific mistakes of it’s forebearers. It is the energy of a people who have remained silent about their oppression for far too long, a people who have patiently waited it out for the opportunity to speak. I, as one of the community leaders, am acting here in the capacity of an ambassador to the regulars. I am asking that our voice, our energy, our morals, our vibe to be heard and considered. We as a people have so much to offer to the world, if only given a chance.”

    thank you for an other excelent article

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention. It doesn’t surprise me, since early human settlements were more spaced out than now and there was far fewer humans, it would have lead to more of them choosing a mate within their family units.

      Like

  2. Jane, you’re absolutely right. It would be much too dangerous to give your identity out.
    Don’t forget that for many people out there you people are ‘criminals’ and ‘pervs’.
    Even if she seems to be a ‘nice lady’ and she assures you to protect your anonymity there is always the danger that she acts careless. Your name saved on a computer or just written on a piece of paper could be enough to create huge problems for you (and your father).

    And, as you wrote, you are important for the community. So, don’t put yourself in danger.

    Take care,
    Stefan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re 100% right Stefan, there is no accounting for the possibility, however slim, of human error (or of the people she works for going over her head). I trust, but never that much. I will never be reckless, I can’t afford to be, so don’t you worry about that. I think once the word about us gets out, the mainstream media will probably have no choice but to alter it’s position on verification to make some exemptions to the rule: namely those who could be prosecuted for victimless ‘crimes’.

      It’s nice to hear from you again, hope you’re keeping well? 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment