An open letter to President Elect, Donald Trump

To President Elect, Mr. Donald Trump,

Firstly, let me congratulate you on becoming the 45th President Elect of the United States, and wish you well during your time in office.

Let me explain who I am, I’m one of the leaders of the consanguinamory community, I blog for equal rights for incest couples and people who are experiencing Genetic Sexual Attraction, anonymously for obvious reasons. I realize that most people are opposed to incest on a number of grounds, not least religious, however I want you you to hear me out.

When I am referring to incest, I am referring only to when both parties are consenting adults, capable of making their own decisions in life. If one is old and competent enough to fight and possibly die for their country, then they are surely old and competent enough to make the decision on whom to have sexual relations with.

Furthermore, the criminalization of incest does absolutely nothing to protect children against rape and molestation, rather it creates an added taboo and stigma making such children more fearful of coming forward about their abuse. These laws unfairly target adults who are causing no harm or detriment to any persons, at the same time as stigmatizing children who are being abused. Obviously this is something I would like to see an end to across the Western world at the very least, and as the President of the United States, you have the ability and the moral duty to help make that happen.

As a Republican, you will of course want taxes to be cut. Consider the cost to the state of convicting and imprisoning just ONE PERSON for multiple years. In the case of consensual sex between adults, isn’t that a waste of taxpayers money? Higher taxes depresses the economy and it is important to make such savings where you can, this is one area where a saving can be made. You’re a businessman, Mr. Trump, you know this makes good sense.

I realize of course that you’re a religious man, and that you might worry that following this path may lead away from God. However, there are some instances of consensual incest within the Bible that God had no objection to, not least the relationship between Abraham and his half-sister Sarah. God didn’t only approve this relationship, he gave Sarah the ability to conceive because she was experiencing fertility problems. If it is morally okay for a prophet to have such a relationship, then it should likewise be okay for anybody else.

Now, I almost didn’t mention this, but I feel I must. You once said of your daughter Ivanka: ‘I’ve said if Ivanka weren’t my daughter, perhaps I’d be dating her’, and ‘You know who’s one of the great beauties of the world, according to everybody? And I helped create her. Ivanka. My daughter, Ivanka. She’s 6 feet tall, she’s got the best body. She made a lot money as a model—a tremendous amount’. While it’s obvious that you’ve not pursued this, it does give me hope that you can at least understand why some people do end up in such relationships when the feeling is mutual. It’s nothing to feel ashamed of, it’s natural and it’s been happening to people since the dawn of mankind. I sense that deep down you know this to be true.

I would also like to appeal to your sense of fairness in also reconsidering your position on LGBT rights, there are many gay and transgendered people in your country worried that you’re going to take away their rights, please don’t do that, be an ally to them and leave gay marriage alone. You can still be a conservative and support equality if you embrace a more libertarian approach which ensures greater rights for all. The left may be wrong about a great many things, but they were not wrong to support LGBT rights.

Naturally, I would like you to read my website to learn more about our people, who come from many countries. We are a community without national borders but all with this one thing in common. I am asking you to learn about our people before dismissing my comments out of hand. I realize how busy you are, especially now with you getting prepared to take over from Obama in January, and of course I do not expect a response from you directly. Just remember that we are here, and the issue of our rights is going to crop up again and again until our human rights are acknowledged. I realize this may be hard, as so many people are opposed to us. However you strike me as a person who does what is right, and not what is necessarily easy, or popular. This is an admirable quality for anybody in office if you can deliver fairness to the American people. Our people do not deserve to be persecuted, and you could be the President to end that injustice, leading the way for the rest of us in other countries.

Thank you for your time,

Jane Doe

 

http://www.consanguinamory.wordpress.com

janedoeofks@protonmail.com

Leave a comment